Rush is a Band

A blog devoted to RUSH:
Neil Peart, Geddy Lee & Alex Lifeson

Mon, Jul 15, 2024

Alex Lifeson-produced David Barrett Trio new self-titled album to release next week

Thu, Feb 21, 2013@4:31PM | comments removed/disabled

After releasing a series of instrumental singles back in 2011 including Hollowbody, Sonar and Disappearance, the Alex Lifeson-produced David Barrett Trio is set to release their first full-length studio album next Tuesday, February 26th. The self-titled album is produced by Alex Lifeson, Rich Chycki, and Alan Parsons, and features Toronto musicians David Barrett (guitars), Jason Farrar (bass) and Alexander Sascha Tukatsch (drums). Financing for the production was done solely with the help of crowdfunding via RocketHub, and the graciousness of the band's producers, engineer and art house. In celebration of the album's release, the band will host a CD listening party this coming Tuesday at Alex Lifeson's Toronto nightclub The Orbit Room at 8PM (doors open at 7PM). They'll then be holding a CD release party at The Mod Club in Toronto on Thursday, April 18th where they'll be performing the entire album live. The album is already available on iTunes at this location and the physical CD will soon be available for order via the band's website. The album liner notes are also available for pdf download at this link. You can check out a video for the album's opening track Dive below or at this location:

There's also this in-studio footage with Alex Lifeson where Alex conducts a pre-production session with the band as they develop the ending for Great Eastern Sun, the last track on the album. Be sure to keep an eye on the band's Facebook page and website for all the latest updates.

NOTE: Posts over 10 years old are partially archived. All comments, images and other embedded media have been removed.