Rush is a Band

A blog devoted to RUSH:
Neil Peart, Geddy Lee & Alex Lifeson

Sun, May 26, 2024

Rush to induct Yes into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Fri, Jan 27, 2017@10:00AM | comments

UPDATE - 1/27@11:48AM: The initial Rock Hall member pre-sale sold out in just over 1 hour, although it looks many of those tickets found their way to Ticket Broker websites. There's also the CITIcard member pre-sale on Monday, and the general on-sale next Friday.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its list of inductees for 2017 last month, and progressive rock pioneers Yes finally made the cut, after having been eligible for induction since 1995 and nominated twice in the past. Since the announcement, there has been a good bit of speculation regarding who would be getting the honor of inducting Yes, and Rush's name was often cited due to Chris Squire having mentioned wanting Rush to induct the band during an interview a few years ago:

I haven't given it much thought, maybe those Rush guys who got in last year! I'm pretty good friends with Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins (of the Foo Fighters) and they did a great speech for Rush... so probably not them, since they just did one. But if you know Geddy (Lee), let him know that that would be fine by me. I don't know how these things work, though, I don't know how much control we have, how much control the voting committee has, and of course we're still kind of wondering how many members of Yes would be inducted.

It now sounds as if the late bass legend will get his wish, as early this morning the Rock Hall announced that Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson will have the honor of inducting Yes at the ceremony April 7th at the Barclays Center in New York. The members of Yes that will be getting inducted are Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Rick Wakeman, Steve Howe, Alan White, Tony Kaye, Trevor Rabin and Chris Squire - whose wife Scottie will be accepting on her late husband's behalf. Tickets for the 32nd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will go on sale to the public next Friday, February 3 at 10AM EST. A pre-sale for Rock Hall members kicked off this morning at 10AM (UPDATE - 11:24AM: member pre-sale has sold out). with a CITI card pre-sale beginning this coming Monday at 10AM. You can get all the details regarding tickets at this location. The other inductees for 2017 are ELO, Joan Baez, Journey, Nile Rogers, Pearl Jam, and Tupac Shakur. Neil Young and Jackson Browne will be inducting Pearl Jam and Joan Baez respectively.