2012 CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR
Tue, Nov 13 @ KeyArena in Seattle, WA

REVIEWS AND POST-SHOW ANALYSIS: The show is over - what did you think? Give your review or just recount your experience.

WELCOME ! Please Leave a comment

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 100 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)
#18 - Posted 11/15/2012 7:23 PM by PLesinski [contact]

I just posted a review of the show with some photos on my blog at link Enjoy!
#17 - Posted 11/15/2012 4:54 PM by cmsof [contact]

This was my 8th show (since 1989) and one of the best I've seen them do. Unfortunately, I too had a couple of screaming drunk girls sitting behind me that obviously weren't there to see or hear Rush. Fortunatley, the music was loud enough to drown them out for the most part. I had seats in the nosebleeds and the sound was quite good up there. Really no issues with the mix.

I hope they NEVER play White River again. On the Time Machine tour there was an accident on the only road leading up to that dump and I missed the first five songs. That was just the last straw, really. I've never enjoyed a show at White River. The staff is terrible, the venue is garbage, and the parking lot is a mess. I'd rather drive out to the Gorge. Or better yet, just keep playing at the Key. Show ended at 10:41 and I was through my front door by 10:49.
#16 - Posted 11/15/2012 12:03 AM by takeafriend [contact]

#15 I have to respectfully disagree with you. We had totally different experiences. My only issue is that with the mixing, it was sometimes hard to clearly hear the base. I think the few that I saw sitting during the CA portion just had not yet heard it. But that was one GREAT show. I love the Key Arena and the crowd around me was rocking super hard. Geddy even seemed surprised by the noise. I was in the 20th row in front of Alex. The acoustics are not that bad. And the nostalgia of the place. I too have seen Rush many times, but I thought this show was special. That was at least my fourth Rush show in the Key (or Coleseum) alone, so it was awesome to see them there again. I hope they come back to the Key. Great restaurants and bars around there, and it is so easy to get to. I read some complaints about getting there, but it sure is a heckuva lot easier to get to than the Gorge of White River for the vast majority of the people. Those are both a drag to get to from Seattle. Come back to the Key Rush! (That is if it is still standing after last night!)
#15 - Posted 11/14/2012 9:01 PM by rush1221 [contact]

This one was somewhat of a dud for me. Key Arena proved to be a poor venue. Small, stuffy and it got pretty warm in there. Acoustics were real bad on just about all of the old stuff. The boys just did not seem to be on top of their game except for the new tunes which for me were easily the peak of the show. The sound was loud but very muffed. The stage was too small (White River and The Gorge are way better). Large audience that was just not getting into it... almost like everyone was stoned, celebrating Washington States recently passed law on weed. I like Rush's stuff from the 80's but I think they played too many. I thought the idea of having the strings playing was novel, but not for as long as they were up there. The boys still rocked it but I think their age showed up at the Key Arena... the energy from recent tours was not there for me. I've seen Rush too many times to count and this one was just not as good as I have seen them. Time Machine Tour was way superior. Snakes and Arrows was also better. If I could afford it I would like to see them in Rio... now THAT looked exciting. Key Arena gets a big thumbs down from me. Not a knock on the boys (even if they did look tired)... I hope they never play there again. I'll take White River or The Gorge any time.
#14 - Posted 11/14/2012 7:32 PM by daktari [contact]

I arrived on the west side of the arena, and went straight to the doors, asking where the Live Nation window was. "The what?" I got a real bad feeling, but one of them sent me to the will call area. On the east side of the arena. A couple was in front of me, got their stuff, then it was my turn. *butterflies* I showed my ID, and he immediately said I was in the front row. I was certain he just fucking with me. Then he said, "No, I'm sure you are." SQUEE!! I opened my envelope, and saw the row listed as 1. HOLY. SHIT. I was second row center for T4E, but this was before brokers and internet purchasing. I made my way to my seat, and waited just a couple minutes. Alex's side, and I was very pleased about that. Video, song, song, song, song, song, etc.

The sound was very good from my seat. I wear custom fitted earplugs with 29dB filters. No ear fatigue after the show. I could hear Neil's snare over the house during his first solo. Also something I remember from T4E. Geddy was more present in the mix better than he was back in NH. It was nice to have the tiny speakers there on the subs for us up close.

A couple mistakes that I saw. No big deal. Very pleased with the Live Nation experience, but with a front row ticket, that's to be expected... ;P
#13 - Posted 11/14/2012 5:41 PM by loonytoon [contact]

Last night was my 4th rush show. It was awesome, as were the others I have seen, but not the best rush show I have seen. I had no problem with the set list, but I thought the sound mix was a bit off, especially on a couple of the songs. Tom Sawyer was way off to my ears. The only other compliant I have was the production. They are all monster musicians and we saw some nice shots of Alex's guitar work and a bit of Neil's drumming but almost all of the shots of Geddy were head shots of him singing or some of his keyboard work. It would have been nice to see more of his bass work on the big screen for those of us not lucky or rich enough to be sitting close. Overall it was a great show and I am looking forward to rush show #5.
#12 - Posted 11/14/2012 1:21 PM by Emotion Defector [contact]

This was my first Rush show in about 30 years. I was pretty hardcore in the 70s/80s, but drifted and eventually came back to them after VT. We had a great time at the show, even if it was a bit of a mixed bag. Key Arena acoustics blow, and maybe it was just our seats (high on Ged's side) but the bass was buried except in the bass breaks. Definitely some chills here and there, like Analog kid solo, Clockwork Angels (song and album), electronic drum solo(really inventive and entertaining - loved it!). Crowd around us was awesome, very few cell phones (and no iPads!), lots of dads/kids (hearing and seeing their mutual excitement was really nice). Thought some of the playlist choices were odd - could have done without about 3 songs, and really wanted to hear Manhattan Project, but whatever.

I thought Ged's voice sounded good and healthy. There seem to be two camps here: "He sucks cuz he can't hit those 'Temples of Syrinx' notes any more," and "He's been doing this for over 40 years and you have to expect some evolution of his ability." I'm in the latter and I think he does a good job of making old songs work with his "new" voice. And the newer songs sounded very good.

Alex sounded great, had many sweet solos that were just right in the mix, and his antics were amusing. Neil is so hidden by the tightness of that kit that about all you see are a couple hands on cymbals occasionally. They really need to do what concert pianists do and put a big mirror behind and over him so you can just study his playing when you want to. Breaking the solo into 3 parts was great, but kinda broke the momentum of Headlong Flight, which was mighty.

Overall, the band was tight, and the CA songs in particular were very well played and sounded great, except for The Garden. Some songs just didn't seem to get a good mix and this was one. Tom Sawyer was another. It was like someone kicked the plug out of the soundboard.

And I have to give a special giant middle finger to the City of Seattle for having so many detours and closed roads around the arena. It was probably one of the worst clusterfucks of driving I have been in in 20 years. Combine that with some rain, rush hour work traffic, and it was a miracle we made it there with time for a pre-show meal.
#11 - Posted 11/14/2012 7:53 AM by Tom Lamneth

11 out of 20 studio albums are covered.
Q. Did anyone but drummers buy Neil's 'Burning For Buddy'?
And what about the hockey theme (loved it! But I don't have 'a record' of it.
Does anybody in PW - land have it. (just curious)
#10 - Posted 11/14/2012 7:47 AM by Tom Lamneth

I wasn't there but I read the comments.
Even RUSH fans, usually literate enough to write a lot, come up with little but 'that the show amazing...WOW!
A testimony to Leke Deke & Peke's prowess (sic) that beats Owen Hardy's juggling act, hands down!
#9 - Posted 11/14/2012 3:44 AM by BTWilson

#7 - Yep, you nailed it. That's the correct setlist played.
#8 - Posted 11/14/2012 3:37 AM by wolftab [contact]

Just another awesome show. I love the addition of the Clockwork Angels String Ensemble. YYZ with strings was fun. And Geddy's vocals sounded amazing tonight. Also, amazing light and multi-media stage show. One of the best I've witnessed. I also like the idea of Neil breaking his solo into 3 shorter pieces. Nice touch. Very pleasantly surprised by the Power Windows heavy first set. Just another all around epic show.
#7 - Posted 11/14/2012 3:36 AM by shabba01 [contact]

I'm pretty sure this right...
Blanking on sequence...

Video Intro (Gearing Up)
Subdivisions
The Big Money
Force 10
Grand Designs
Middletown Dreams
Territories
Analog Kid
The Pass
Where's My Thing (with drum solo)
Far Cry

Video Intro (The Appointment)
Caravan
Clockwork Angels
The Anarchist
Carnies
The Wreckers
Headlong Flight (with drum solo)
Halo Effect (with guitar solo intro)
Wish Them Well
The Garden
Dreamline ?? blanking here ??
The Percussor (drum solo)
Red Sector A
YYZ
(Clockwork Angels String Ensemble exits)
The Spirit of Radio

Tom Sawyer
2112 Overture/Temples of Syrinx/Grand Finale
Video Outro (Office Of The Watchmaker)
#6 - Posted 11/14/2012 3:34 AM by BTWilson

After 6 months of preparation, this night was so worth the wait. The setlist is so much better live than it is on paper. I mean, I expected it to be good, but the visceral synaptic sensory overload of the whole audio-visual presentation simply has to be experienced in real time. Extraordinary! Alex had many many moments of simply unbelievable shred. Jaw-dropping stuff. Of course Ged & Neil were typically fantastic as well. It was probably just me, but Neil's first solo seemed longer than on the recordings I've heard. But then time stood still for me as I was savoring every sweet moment of the 3 hour blast.

For those keeping score, we got the expected B Setlist (NIGHT B version 3, to be exact). Not that I'm complaining, but I was kinda hoping for a 7 Cities swapout. But WTW was worth it, if only for the "Dance to the Music" breakdown. (Hope they take care to compile all the setlist varieties on the eventual DVD release.)

Like previous reviewers have noted, it was easy to sense some unease with the new material on the part of the crowd. Not in my crew, mind you. WE totally loved it. Fantastic second set all the way! Crowd got hopping again from Dreamline thru the end of the show.

Special night for me. This venue was the sight of my first Rush show back on the 1980 Permanent Waves tour (and the next year for Moving Pictures). It was the Seattle Center Coliseum back then (now the Key Arena, named after Key Bank). Nice to see the boys indoors and close to home, although I'll trek wherever I have to to see them again next summer.

Being an old school fan I was originally dismayed by the lack of 70's material. (Where's Cygnus? Xanadu? By-Tor?...) But all the CA tunes harken back to those heady days with some seriously heavy and bludgeoning riffage. And I have now matured enough to fully appreciate the songcraft that was represented so well with the 80's heavy first set. (Got to love all those Power Windows tracks.)

So again, looking forward to next summer when they'll swing back through and catch up with Vancouver BC, Vancouver WA (Ridgefield), and likely the Gorge again. And to all the folks in California, Vegas, Arizona, and Texas: get ready to jump on board cause the Caravan is headed your way soon. Enjoy!
#5 - Posted 11/14/2012 3:21 AM by shabba01 [contact]

Ohh forgot to add the String Ensemble is a very special addition to the whole experience and Howard's light show was brilliant as usual!
#4 - Posted 11/14/2012 3:19 AM by shabba01 [contact]

Just got back from the show. Super awesome and amazing! It was my 9th time seeing the band. I flew out here from Minneapolis with my wife for my 42nd birthday and met up with some old college friends for the show! Such a great crowd of dedicated PNW fans and a super focussed and nuanced set. I purposely avoided all knowledge of the set so it was great to hear so many of my favorites from Power Windows - Big Money, Grand Designs, Middletown Dreams and Territories! I loved the 3 drum solos spread out through the sets and the Clockwork Angels material is so fresh. I love seeing the boys dig into the new material! Such a wonderful convergence of music and emotions for me! Thanks Seattle Rush heads!
#3 - Posted 11/14/2012 2:56 AM by bozola [contact]

What a fantastic show. Best Geddy Voice in a long time. Tight sounds and the boys were all smiling. AWESOME....
#2 - Posted 11/14/2012 2:44 AM by takeafriend [contact]

I am with #1. I have been a fan since the 70s and have seen them many, many times. Tonight's show was something special. It was amazing and the band was so tight. Aren't they always? Yes. but tonight was one of those special shows that they do every few tours. Wow. They were nothing short of incredible. Wow.
#1 - Posted 11/14/2012 2:29 AM by CygnusII [contact]

Just got back from the show with my wife. We were in the front row in front of Geddy. Another show full of WOW's from me and my wife. Been a fan for 38 years and they never cease to amaze.
Leave a comment | Back to top

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)

Login to post your comment

You must login to post comments. If you do not have an account you can create one for free at this link.