2012 CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR
Thu, Nov 1 @ Verizon Wireless Amphitheater in Alpharetta, GA

REVIEWS AND POST-SHOW ANALYSIS: The show is over - what did you think? Give your review or just recount your experience.

WELCOME ! Please Leave a comment

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 100 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)
#14 - Posted 12/06/2012 9:11 PM by DUG K. [contact]

15th Rush show in 28 years. Still get that giddy feeling on show day, especially right before the show starts, sitting in the venue. Certain shows are probably better than others, but without fail, every new tour is always better than the last. One of the best things about a Rush tour now is seeing what songs they decide to drop and which ones they will play. Everything was a 5 out of 5 star rating for me. The only way it would have been better for me was if I had a closer seat and if I could've scored a tour program. The merchandise lines were ridiculous, and I wasn't about to miss part of the show waiting in line.
#13 - Posted 11/08/2012 3:55 PM by GE Filter [contact]

Tremendous show. The energy level of these guys never ceases to amaze me. I loved the set list and have no complaints. The light show was tremendous and I thought the sound quality was good, not great. I did not mind the outdoor show as the temps seemed to inspire the boys and I had plenty of antifreeze. The crowd was sold out and most were into it from the start. My only complaint is why Verizon cannot have ground transportation after the show available. I know it is not there place to arrange a ride for my drunk ass but at least cabs in the area ought to know people and cash are there. I was with at least 30 people almost starnded after the show waiting on a cab, bus, anything. When the random cab would show it looked like the Indian railroad with people hanging off the side. Wish I could hit the lotto and travel the rest of the tour. Cannot wait to see them again.
#12 - Posted 11/05/2012 11:14 AM by Vesper2112 [contact]

What a fantastic show! I've been seeing them since I had my mom take me and a friend to the Signals show. 30 years later and I'm taking MY kids to their first concert. Now, they (14 & 12) grew up knowing my obsession with Rush, so they had their fair share of rolling their eyes at me about it, but they were eager to see their first show and it was much better than they thought it would be. They knew the radio hits and a few off Clockwork Angels. Totally blown away by Neil's solos (of course). All in all... they were thoroughly impressed.
This was my fiancee's 2nd show and she agrees that this one was even better than Time Machine. The string section was amazing! I love that Rush added this new element to their show. We were on the lawn (like last time) and had a great view of the stage/lighting. I've seen them enough times to where I either want right up front or relaxing on the lawn (which I'm perfectly fine doing... especially when I'm paying for 4 tickets, LOL). Hope to see them on the 2nd leg (maybe Nashville?).
#11 - Posted 11/03/2012 10:54 AM by Grimace [contact]

What a great show! Met up with a very good friend of mine and his wife and just flat out enjoyed the night. First time at this venue and I gotta say I am impressed. I do not normally like outdoor sheds, but this is an exception. We were on the lawn and the slope allows for people to sit(chairs are provided by VWA) or just lay back. I told my wife before I went that nobody sits for Rush shows, but I gotta tell ya, it was pretty freaking cool. Pretty cold, too! Think Liam (I think he is tour mgr) needs to check weather a little better. It gets cold (even colder than the show night) in November here in Atlanta. Not going to complain though. Beats the heck out of sitting in near 100 degree heat!

With the exception of the TM trek, I have seen every tour since Signals and agree that they just keep getting better and better. Only noticed a couple of miscues. One was when Geddy started to play Bravado instead of The Pass and Alex kind of botched the opening bar of his piano part in The Garden. Nothing major by any means.

The set list was great. I knew it ahead of time except for Limelight. My friend did not and it was great to see his reaction to the first set rarities. CA material? ABSOLUTELY KILLS live! It will hard to keep a lot of these tracks out of future tours the way TFE, VT, and SnA's songs seemed to stuffed in the vault. The addition of the CA String Section just sealed the deal. They added so much. Just great idea for them to be brought along.

Really loved Neil's solos. The new sounds he has for the electronic portion are incredible and tastefully executed. On his solo for the TM tour, I kind of thought Neil put stuff in the solo, just because he wanted to display the new things he had been working on, which was fine. This time however, those things are there, but they just seem to flow more smoothly. Which is pretty amazing when you think that he is really leaving the entire solo pieces open to improvisation this time around...or so he said.

I have stated this before and this past Thursday only added to my opinion that 3 guys in the late 50's -and 60's should not be making music and sounding like this! Band that are getting started today...heck, even successful ones today need to pay attention to these old farts. It would do them well.
#10 - Posted 11/02/2012 11:25 PM by tnunn007 [contact]

Geddy's vocals were absolutely amazing. It was really cool to hear the string enesemble on Dreamline and YYZ. During Dreamline, you could see a Gibbous moon rising with the planet Jupiter as a bright star almost on top of the moon. The conjunction was visible rising up from the rear of the amphitheater. The 6 smaller video screens that were at the top of the stage created some really cool effects. I was really pleasantly suprised to hear Limelight kick in, instead of Middletown Dreams. It was a great mixture of songs. I really enjoyed Grand Designs, Territories, and Analog Kid. The band and stage show just keeps getting better.
#9 - Posted 11/02/2012 9:39 PM by zach3112 [contact]

The show was fantastic. I was excited to see the 80's era stuff and that did not disappoint. The sound was great, though it seemed like Geddy's pedals were acting up a bit on Territories (not enough bass). Regardless the show was a ten. I will say that I have seen the last three tours and this was by far the best. It just seems like they are at their peak, which is amazing considering. The set list was great, the CA stuff was perfectly done and executed. The string ensamble was great, they were loving being on stage as much as the boys.

I took a buddy who new the typical Rush songs, and even he said the show was great. When a non-Rush fan enjoys themselves at a show it's the real deal. I would actually say he is a convert now. One person at a time......

Oh yeah, sold out crowd basically. No one else is doing that nowadays.........
#8 - Posted 11/02/2012 10:13 AM by nuke83 [contact]

YYZ from iphone 5 (pretty good sound qual for a phone). Section 103

link
#7 - Posted 11/02/2012 10:03 AM by nuke83 [contact]

Fantastic show. Sound, lights, pyro, video, all excellent. This is a perfect venue for concerts. The boys rocked as always.

Took my 14 and 16 year old sons for their first concert. My 14 year old had actually asked for these tickets for his birthday last June. My 7th show since my first (Moving Pictures in Portland OR) Did not disappoint. The two songs he most wanted to hear were YYZ and Limelight. I had warned him that Limelight had been played once all tour on setlist A and we were probably getting setlist B. Nice surprise 5 songs in. Also got YYZ with the iPhone and will post. Was dead center of section 103, so perfect view of stage, video, lights. Sons loved the show. Youngest was very surprised by the pyro and loved it.
#6 - Posted 11/02/2012 9:39 AM by mcon529 [contact]

OH one note on the setlist. The link to the set in this open thread is incorrect. Seven Cities of Gold was not played, it was Wish Them Well. I must also say, Wish Them Well killed, very high energy and rocking tune. So many great moments from this show, too many to count. Weeding through pics to upload, i've got some good ones too. MC
#5 - Posted 11/02/2012 9:03 AM by lisah [contact]

The Boys deliver AGAIN!!! Did we expect anything less?? It is almost like torture to read these amazing reviews every day, knowing I have to wait until the last 2 shows to drink the milk of paradise that is RUSH! Oh there I go again, I just finished my first cup of kool-aid for the day. Now it's time to go drink another glass! I love kool-aid especially Rush flavored kool-aid.
#4 - Posted 11/02/2012 8:52 AM by mcon529 [contact]

WOW. I guess I Wasn't prepared for that show. I knew it would be good, but I was blown away in all actuality. The place was packed. Quite a crowd, I was surprised at how fast the venue filled up and was packed to the gills. First set was great, the 80s era Rush really had the crowd in a lively mood. I would say for sure the crowd was more animated in the first set. Seems a lot of folks new the material perfectly well and were stoked to hear it. Set 2 was mind blowing, seriously can't think of another way to describe it.

Audio. We were directly below the PA on Lifeson side, Row L I believe. Amazing technology to say the least. Instrumentation was crsytal clear, loud as hell and we were actually able to talk about the songs during the songs and still hear each other. 10 out of 10 stars on the mix. Geddys vocals were amazing. I think they guys were invigorated by the cool weather, even joking about it a bit. Ged nailed everything and I think took some parts up higher then he has been as of late. Thrilled to hear such good singing from Mr. Lee. Funny, I heard Geddy laugh into the mic a few times in between songs when he was talking to the crowd. The guys were on fire.

in the end, huge crowd, amazing concert sound, and a visual mind blower. I would loooooove this to be a DVD show, imagine that...

Peace til next time
#3 - Posted 11/02/2012 12:39 AM by rushintothe-atl

just got in and wasn't disappointed one bit. a little chilly, but everything was as perfect as i thought it would be. Limelight was the first set highlight and the Power Windows tunes just plain kicked a$$!! Haven't seen them since the Moving Pictures tour(Spectrum PA), and they only get better like fine wine.

i did see that the setlist(B#5) was posted, however, they did not play SCOG in place of Wish Them Well! I was hoping that was the case, but i'm sure i'll catch that tune another time.

i grew up with them in the late seventies and early eighties, now i'm into the CA songs and i'll start "finding my way" back to the earlier period.

final words-- "I wish I could live it all again"!!!
#2 - Posted 11/01/2012 11:17 PM by trees76 [contact]

Show is over and I cannot say enuff about these 3 MONSTER
Musicians!!! What a SHOW, Band and the Surprise setlist insert!!
Way too good to be true!! And we can all sit back and wait for more!!
#1 - Posted 11/01/2012 8:20 PM by trees76 [contact]

Limelight!! Song 5!! First set!! Pack the house
Leave a comment | Back to top

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)

Login to post your comment

You must login to post comments. If you do not have an account you can create one for free at this link.