2012 CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR
Wed, Oct 24 @ TD Garden in Boston, MA

REVIEWS AND POST-SHOW ANALYSIS: The show is over - what did you think? Give your review or just recount your experience.

WELCOME ! Please Leave a comment

Page 1 of 2 - 1 2
20 items per page (10 50 100 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)
#22 - Posted 10/26/2012 10:18 PM by kaos7

Saw them on the tour opener in Manchester and this was equally as thrilling. Sat 6th row on Alex's side and had a great view of him and his antics. Came so close to snagging one of the t.shirts that Alex threw but the guy in the row in front of me got it. Saw lots of people that had been at the Manchester show. Also spotted Donna Halper walking around the floor. Agree with #11, Geddy didn't seem mad, he just told the tech to forget about fixing the teleprompter and go and get his bass. Also the "Red Sox Cap" line in Analog Kid was a real winner...Another great show under the belt. Now to plan my next RUSH fix...
#21 - Posted 10/26/2012 12:16 PM by dedicatedx [contact]

Folks,

First off, I'm a 41 year old Rush lifer. First show as at Bredan Byrne Arena, NJ - Grace Under Pressure tour.

I am a typical Rush fan with all their albums in quadruplicate. Vinyl, Tape, CD, iTunes. I was at their first Vapor Trails show inHartford, CT after their 5 year hiatus.

I've seen them at the Garden before and they killed it. This show was different.

I had seats on Geddy's side. It may be the Garden, but the sound was unbearably bad. All distorted low end, even with ear plugs it was excruciating.

They clearly still have their chops and I was so excited for the second set, but at that point, every note was painful. I had brought a first timer to the show and was so disappointed for him. Even the first set had songs I was looking forward to. The 80's were my introduction to Rush, so there was some nostalgia there.

I will give it another go with better seats of course. I still need to take my now 7 year old son to a show.

I also have to agree, the show had a lifelessness to it. The crowd seemed indifferent, until YYZ.

Down, but not out! Looking forward to the Induction.
#20 - Posted 10/26/2012 12:05 PM by robertmark68 [contact]

I haven't read the book by Kevin Anderson as yet. But it's in the stack! :-) I have a LONG reading list and 4 kids...do the math. :-) However, if I may chime in here: I think it's been said elsewhere and it bears repeating here. If you LOVE the 'Clockwork Angels' CD you MUST read 'Candide' by Voltaire. this album is at it's core an imaginative reworking of the Enlightenment classic. There are many Enlightenment themes that Neil references here. The clockwork universe that Newton believed in deeply, the idea of this being the 'best of all possible worlds' that Leibniz espoused. 'The Garden' is in essence a distillation of the final realizations of Candide at the end of the so named book. I highly recommend the book it's an relatively easy read and the humor of it is entirely relevant in our cynical world. Voltaire was a satirical master!

Morever, I think this CD showcases how Neil's own evolution of thought has progressed from the virtues of selfishness a la Rand (Anthem, 2112, Freewill) to the less strident enlightened self-interest with an eye to improving the human condition for all in a world not supervised by a 'Watchmaker' through tending our 'Gardens'.

A Great show in Boston though!!! I went alone because all my friends are musical Philistines! ;-)
#19 - Posted 10/26/2012 7:41 AM by BoonsPlanet [contact]

The essence of all of the songs from CO start from the story lines of the book with the same title. Having read the book just after the Manchester show, I gained new appreciation of all of the songs from CO especially Seven Cities of Gold, Wreckers and The Garden by the time I saw them in Bridgeport. I felt The Watchmaker, Anarchist and our hero Owen Hardy (in which Headlong Flight tributes Owen's life) are on stage with the band. The strings have much to do with that feeling as well.

If you have not read the book, I highly recommend it. You'll never listen to CO the same way!!!
#18 - Posted 10/25/2012 7:48 PM by jiminseattle [contact]

#9. "The album is very good but not great." Again for the umpteenth time this is what makes the world go round. I feel the album is not only great but Rush's greatest of all time. IMHO
#17 - Posted 10/25/2012 5:59 PM by rush81 [contact]

#15 Should know that almost 500 hundred peope were killed in the "Cocoanut Grove" Nightclub fire in Boston. It shook up the whole nation, and this was just after we got into world war 2. A city cannot forget this and we should respect them even if it is not for our liking.
#16 - Posted 10/25/2012 4:09 PM by eshine [contact]

#9 - It's a shame you are so concerned about the crowd that you let it effect your show. Personally, I could care less if people are into the "new stuff" or not. anyone who shells out 200 bucks for a Rush show expecting to hear a greatest hits package is a fool and doesn't follow the band well enough.

Rush are not a greatest hits band. They continue to move forward and take chances, which is why we love them and why they are still releveant.

If they catered their shows to the minority of fans who know nothing of the band except the five song rotation played ad nausium on classic rock radio, they would be playing rib-fest.
#15 - Posted 10/25/2012 3:23 PM by sportzfan76 [contact]

One more thing...this isn't a knock on Rush but on the Boston Garden itself. They always seem to limit the special effects that the band uses - specifically the pyro. There usually are huge flames fired off during Caravan - (in a World lit only by Fire) and later on in the show as well. They were obviously not allowed in the Garden as only steam was allowed as a substitute for the flames -which generate enough heat that you can feel them at least 25 rows back ! They were also not allowed on the Time Machine tour during the song Witch Hunt. I think Boston needs to get a new Fire Marshall !
#14 - Posted 10/25/2012 12:31 PM by lisah [contact]

Geddy Lee is ALWAYS a Wonder To Behold!! No matter where he goes or what he does. He is a TRUE ROCK ICON!
#13 - Posted 10/25/2012 12:29 PM by lisah [contact]

quone, Congratulations, you have been baptised in the holy water that is RUSH! Dosen't it feel great? I think that the synth like parts in the percussor are triggered by a synth wired into Pratts drum triggers. He uses them to add parts to his solos. They are always present in the solos. Also some sounds are programmed into the Roland V drums, that are used in the songs like Clockwork Angels and The Trees. Any way welcome to the best concert experience you will EVER have. Thats just my opinion. RUSH ON!!
#12 - Posted 10/25/2012 12:11 PM by quone [contact]

The other thing I'll mention is that I was nervous (a little) because I didn't know how Geddy would sound on the more vocally demanding songs, but I thought he was great, really didn't notice any problems!
#11 - Posted 10/25/2012 12:04 PM by quone [contact]

SPOILERS IN HERE (hope that's ok, my first post)

30-something here who got into Rush a couple years ago. This was my first Rush concert. Because I am newer to Rush, sure I wanted to hear some more older stuff. Still, the new stuff is pretty good in my opinion. I was SO excited about the show and it was great. They are really great musicians, and the videos keep the show interesting too.

I had looked at the setlist and I knew what was coming, but then the curveball came of Seven Cities, and then I got excited for some reason they might play Manhattan (maybe my favorite) instead of Dreamline, but they didn't. I did notice the crew person worked on Alex's prompter for a little, then was on Geddy's for a long time. I was far away but didn't see Geddy get mad but it was more like he was just like "forget it," as it didn't look like the techie was making any progress. Just like kept pulling a wire or something.

Analog kid was great with the Red Sox cap line. It shows they are thinking about the show, instead of just being mindless drones up there. People got pumped for that song. Throughout the show they definitely turned up the volume, I was amazed at how soft it was at first but then you really could feel it going louder. Crowd was so into YYZ, Spirit of Radio, 2112 and you can feel the band feed off the energy. I will give a few of the CO songs a second go after hearing them live. Crowd most into Headlong Flight of the CO I thought. And maybe Caravan. I thought the Garden was a lot better live than I had remembered it from the CD. Interesting how the crowd is most pumped at start and end, and at start they do Subdivisions, which is a great song but it's not the most intense song. Maybe the band even needs a little warmup.

Other than that it was a very festive happy atmosphere and I had a great time!
#10 - Posted 10/25/2012 11:28 AM by sportzfan76 [contact]

I disagree with post #9....and probably couldn't disagree more.

I was in the 5th row in front of Alex and if anything the crowd was more into the 2nd set - including all the new album material.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but Rush's new material is fresh and relevant. Sorry that the band didn't play too much from your "Greatest Hits album"...but I guess you could always go see Cheap Trick or Blondie play their 1:15 setlist of hits.
#9 - Posted 10/25/2012 10:42 AM by dugmar [contact]

2nd show I saw on this tour. Went to the opener in NH.

Again, pretty good show, but the band really lost the audience after the intermission. The new album is very good, but not great. A couple of songs from their latest would have been plenty, but not the entire album.

You could see a physical change in the crowd, during the 2nd set the room fell flat, people were not moving. The glow from the cell phones dwindled. The lines for the bathroom and the beer vendors grew during the 2nd set. Many people were bored.

I hate to say it, but the band Rush is now a Greatest Hits band, that is what people want to come to see and hear. On the train ride home several fans were echoing the same sentiments. The wanted to hear Fly By Night, Closer to the Heart, Red Barchetta, Limelight, New World Man. It was not to be.
#8 - Posted 10/25/2012 9:16 AM by BoonsPlanet [contact]

I saw them in Manchester, Bridgeport Ct (the day after they were nominated to the Hall) and last night in Beantown. Last night being my 40th show I am in awe of how they continue to progress and push the envelope. Hold the Red Star proudly high in hand!
#7 - Posted 10/25/2012 6:07 AM by epc1965

Great show last night... had a much better sound than the manchester show.
H aving seen the boys countless times , I loved the setlist and have a greater a love for the new album..
#6 - Posted 10/25/2012 3:59 AM by Donna Lee [contact]

Great Concert.....The boys seemed to be really having a good time despite the minor difficulties. The videos they had were really cute! The Orchestra was fantastic...very lively and right on cue. Loved the tall guy with the white hair on Alex's side. he was really rocking !
I didnt get a t-shirt...to expensive. I saw a small duffle bad with the clockwork sign on it...RED of course, for $15.00 bucks. I bought the last one at the stand i was at. I love it. !
Good Concert....GOOOOOd concert. Come back come back !! ♪♪♪☺
#5 - Posted 10/25/2012 3:54 AM by Donna Lee [contact]

Great Show.....I loved the videos in the background too. The Orchestra was very "lively" especially the guy on Alex's side . The Tall guy with the white hair. He was Rockin ! The boys seemed to having fun despite the minor technical difficulties. neil never missed when he threw his sticks up..not that i saw, even while spinning. Goood show So Good!
Come Back ! Come back ! ♪♪♪♪♪
#4 - Posted 10/25/2012 1:24 AM by salsgang [contact]

Yes the Teleprompter went dead. Lots of commotion for 5 min and Ged got agitated cause he needed a bass switch.
#3 - Posted 10/25/2012 1:02 AM by sportzfan76 [contact]

Excellent show ! Minor setlist change - B setlist but Wish them Well was replaced with Seven Cities of Gold. Alex mugged and played it upto the crowd all night.
Leave a comment | Back to top

Page 1 of 2 - 1 2
20 items per page (10 50 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)

Login to post your comment

You must login to post comments. If you do not have an account you can create one for free at this link.