2012 CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR
Sat, Sep 22 @ Scottrade Center in St. Louis, MO

REVIEWS AND POST-SHOW ANALYSIS: The show is over - what did you think? Give your review or just recount your experience.

WELCOME ! Please Leave a comment

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 100 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)
#13 - Posted 09/28/2012 9:51 AM by dr4play

Attended the show (4th over 38 years) and took my wife whos never seen the band nor liked their music. I thought the show was excellent. Geddy's voice was as good as I have seen though changed from when I was 16; he has found his range and is strong. His bass play is excellent. Neil was excellent. Alex was very good. The new music is outstanding espcially live and the band didn't include the "old hits" but that does get "OLD" and they are not an "oldies" band. They have referred to themselves as veteran rock n rollers. The venue didn't help the sound. I have been there for U2, Santana, Nickleback as well as countless blues games and the venue is not a place to produce great sound; having said that, they did a damn good job. Too bad it wasn't at the amphitheatre. My wife said she was pleasantly suprised and enjoyed the show, the musicianship and professionalism of the band; they are very entertaining. Finally, the bands stamina is UNBELIEVABLE. The show was 3 hours and 20 minutes of which 15 minutes a break. I have never seen a band play that length with that much precision and continue the energy. Most of the 30 year and under bands I see cannot compete...........Its not close. I'll be back and its the first CD of Rush's I've bought in a long time (should be on the radio).
#12 - Posted 09/23/2012 7:15 PM by rando [contact]

Drove down from Davenport, Iowa. My first Rush show since Snakes and Arrows, due to random life chaos. I think the Snakes and Arrows "show" was superior to this one, but that's quibbling, because this was great too. I think the sound could have been a little better, but it was certainly not bad. My main complaint was that I couldn't hear the guitar very well during most of the first set, but I guess that goes with the era, which is why I have never liked Power Windows.

My quick take on that controversy: Even if I liked synthesizers (which I don't), it's hard for me to put aside the fact that no album has so dismayed so many Rush fans, that most fans (this site excepted) would list it in their bottom three Rush albums, that Alex has said he was extremely unhappy with the album and his role in making it, that one of the best guitarists should not be buried in the mix, and that it is bizarre for one of the best bassists to be playing keyboards instead of bass. Four songs from PW is simply too many, and I would have preferred almost anything else. With that said, the PW songs were played quite powerfully, and I actually enjoyed them for the first time. I also respect the band for choosing them instead of playing the same old "hits" and I hope they continue in that vein. (done)

The first set ended VERY well, in my opinion. Analog Kid was smoking, and the crowd was roaring after that one. The Pass was awesome, and I think it really stunned the people who didn't expect it or who are not familiar with it. Far Cry rocked, of course. And I must say that Where's My Thing is definitely one of the all-time best live jams in history. They tore the place up with that song last night! Seeing that in the same night as YYZ was really cool too.

Second set was phenomenal -- one of the best sets I've seen them do in the last thirty years. The live performances of the CA songs confirm that it is one of the best albums of their career, and they sounded SOOOOO good live. I am going to have to make it to another show on this tour to see all those songs again before they put them in the vaults. But no Seven Cities? ARRRGGGH!!! Hopefully that song will get more play on this tour and in the next one as well, because I will be very disappointed if I never see it live. Overall, though, another phenomenal show from one of the best bands in history. I've been in withdrawal all day, scheming about how I can get to another show as soon as possible, wondering how soon I can get this tour's DVD, and already eagerly anticipating the next album.
#11 - Posted 09/23/2012 6:48 PM by jsm8r8 [contact]

I forgot to mention the impromptu jam during Geddy's technical issue in my earlier comment posting - nice catch. It was not only kind of entertaining as a rarity, but also because of the way that Neil pulled a oneupsmanship move on Alex by doing the sizzling (paradiddles or double paradiddles?) fill on the hi-hat...even my girlfriend (not a music, let alone Rush, fan) got a kick out of that!
#10 - Posted 09/23/2012 5:30 PM by 40smith [contact]

Having read the other reviews, I'm a little hesitant to post what I'm about to post.
Let's get the negative stuff out of the way. The overall sound last night was rather muddy. The venue was really boomy. Geddy's voice was hard to pick up, his bass was lost the entire first half of the show. Even the screen videos were hard to understand. I don't think it was the venue. I saw Roger Waters perform the Wall in October 2010 at the same venue and it was damn near perfect. I saw Rush In Nashville in April and the sound was top notch at Bridgestone Arena ( a comparable venue). Ged's bass was better after intermission and the Clockwork Angels songs sounded pretty good!
I'd also like to address the setlist. I took three casual Rush fans with me and they pretty much had the same comments after the show. They didn't recognize too many songs from the the 1st set and the the end of the 2nd set was the best. The unfamiliarity with the songs is an issue. One of them told me before he drops 100 bucks again, he'll wait to see the setlist. I would really like to see the guys "tweak" a little and plug in Limelight, Working Man, The Trees in lieu of some of the others. They need to remember not every concert goer is a RABID fan like most of us on the forum are!
OK, I go positive now!
The light show is stellar! The orchestra is an great addition to the show! The guys are playing at their peak and they look like they're really having a good time doing it. My girlfriend said she couldn't believe how many times she saw Neil smile during the evening! I really love the totally gratuitous drum riser rotation during Clockwork Angels! The little jam session between Neil and Alex while Geddy had technical problems was priceless! Maybe they should build in some "tech problems" and allow the guys to goof off a little every night.
The boys will have my money anytime they get within a couple hundred miles of my house! I liked the show and look forward to seeing them again!
Please be kind to me... these are simply my opinions and should be treated as that. If you disagree, that's cool. I'm not trying to flame the boys from up North, I just want to see them have continued success.
Mike
#9 - Posted 09/23/2012 3:35 PM by SStringer [contact]

Simply the best Rush performance these eyes and ears have seen and heard! Out of my 16 shows over the years, this was the best for me and my Son, Sam (Sam is 12 now; veteran of 4 Rush concerts himself). The energy and passion for their craft was on full display last night, supported by the best road crew in the business. Yes, this is Rush, after almost 40 years, at the top of their game and all of the rock world. Bask in this glory my fellow Rush fans - Dancing in the end zone over years of ignorant criticism is so so sweet and well deserved. Just wish them well.

Sam and I are headed back to Jackson as I write (by way of DFW)...and we can't stop thinking big....a shared experience my 12 year old and I will never forget. The arrow flew while we dreamed last night each moment was a sweet memory in flight.

Thank you Geddy, Alex, and Neil and Tony, Lorne, and everyone else who launches the
Rush machine to sweet perfection. The measure of a life is a measure of love and respect and you gave us that last night. Thank you also for the various momentos you gave us. We will have these keepsakes ialong with our pictures in a frame at our Home.

Scott Stringer - Jackson, MS
#8 - Posted 09/23/2012 1:12 PM by Stephanielovesrush [contact]

I don't even know where to start...my husband and I absolutely loved the show! Get goosebumps talking about it! When Subdivisions first begins it is just an out of body experience! We love Analog Kid and The Pass in the first set (I mean they were all great but just particularly enjoyed those songs!)!!!
The second set of the CA stuff was amazing!!! I tell you Geddy's voice on The Wreckers and The Garden is just like velvet. We did not sit down once and when Headling Flight played oh my...super awesome!!! I am not a huge Working Man fan so when Geddy asked Alex if he wanted to start and then the first beats of Spirit of Radio started I thought we had died and went to Rush heaven. We also LOVE Dreamline so we were screaming those lyrics like maniacs, in our brains we were in tune but watching the video this morning proved otherwise. I think my iPhone might be messed up because I'm sure we sounded better than that...the poor people around us!
The lights, screens, strings, explosions were captivating and the guys just looked like they were having so much fun. Geddy's addition of "he pulls down his cardinals cap" in Analog Kid was fun for the St. Louis crowd!
I give the show an A+!!!
#7 - Posted 09/23/2012 12:09 PM by KLR2112 [contact]

Geat show the band was tight. Acoustics in the arena could have been better. I think the show would sound much better at an outdoor venue.
The string section sounded great they should have played the whole show.
#6 - Posted 09/23/2012 11:36 AM by stekev0 [contact]

This was my 9th show since the Roll The Bones tour.Power Windows is a longtime favorite album .Grand Designs,Middletown Dreams,Territories, WOW! The show I thought was geared to long time fans and I loved every song The arena was packed!I may have to go to the Cleveland show! I wish them well!
#5 - Posted 09/23/2012 10:58 AM by Number 1 Rush Fan [contact]

Really sweet show! Congratulations to the band for their dedication to keep producing a high quality show.......the music, the set, the videos, and all the associated players all were outstanding! Thank you again from this loyal and appreciative RUSH fan!!!!!
#4 - Posted 09/23/2012 10:12 AM by Davuzi [contact]

Love when the wives and daughters come out
#3 - Posted 09/23/2012 9:50 AM by Cell of awareness

Great show.....my wife (first show) and brother in law and I went last night and it rocked! The setlist is Definately not for a first timer (my wife) or even a part timer ( my bro-in law) but for a full time rush fan like myself it was killer!!!!

Geddy had a small glitch with his earpiece at one point in the show and Neil and Alex filled in with some freestyle lite jamming for about 2 minutes while he was getting it fixed....it was sweet.

Territories, Middletown, grand designs.....all awesome......clockwork angels was nice and heavy, and coming out of the new album into Dreamline was really well done, in part because it was nice to be done with clockwork and back into some classics. They finished up very strong and my group was happy, not as giddy as I was... but happy.
#2 - Posted 09/23/2012 8:51 AM by tjshrout [contact]

Absolutely phenomenal show in St Louis! I saw my first Rush show in 1985 for the Power Windows tour and have been to every tour since. I think this was the best show I have ever seen. I was thrilled they played Middletown Dreams, one of my favorites. Its so hard to take everything in, I didn't want it to end. Certainly appropriate to wish time would stand still. The new songs sounded phenomenal, their playing was tight, Ged's vocals were brilliant and dead on. The stage setup was captivating too. I was impressed with the baby blue bass Geddy played, I had not seen that instrument before. Freeze this moment a little bit longer, make each sensation a little bit stronger. Experience slips away...
#1 - Posted 09/23/2012 1:23 AM by Prindy1

Was a great show. The guys sounded as good as ever. The songs they played, while great, were not as raucous as many of their shows so the first set was a little subdued. The Clockwork Angels material was fantastic live and the string musicians added a nice touch. Instead of Working Man, they played Spirit of Radio! That was a nice surprise. Otherwise, they followed setlist B as they did in other shows.
Leave a comment | Back to top

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)

Login to post your comment

You must login to post comments. If you do not have an account you can create one for free at this link.