2012 CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR
Thu, Sep 13 @ Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, IN

REVIEWS AND POST-SHOW ANALYSIS: The show is over - what did you think? Give your review or just recount your experience.

WELCOME ! Please Leave a comment

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 100 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)
#15 - Posted 09/25/2012 11:59 AM by simon r

Last? 3rd show for me on this tour and what a show!

Met fans at Hampton Inn arriving about 3pm just around the corner from Banker arena. A couple from Cincinnati who didnt have tickets came as they were not playing their local city. A photographer was staying there who was going to show and said block 17 had a clear view of Neil which proved correct. I was in block 16 Alex side about 6 rows up from floor and about 20 rows from stage floor level.Clear view of Neil for once even behind that huge drumkit.

The crowd were superb-really wanted to listen to show not go off for beers or talk endlessly like some shows. The row in front was nearly empty for some reason so offered 2 seats to 2 boys about 7/10 who were standing behind me with parents so they could get a better view as some people were sitting down during CA part of set in rows in front. Youngest had great tshirt-Everything louder than everything else! Again like Pittsburgh tier 3 was blacked out except for opposite stage at the back which seemed odd!

This show proved they had settled in quickly after 4 shows into their usual style. I knew it would be good having seen them at Manchester and Pittsburgh but this was on another level for me. They even did Middletown Dreams so unexpected I said am I dreaming this is Middletown Dreams!!!This is so rare and they didnt do UK with POW so it was great to get 4 POW tracks!!Analog Kid/Bravado superb tracks and they added The Pass which I love. Nice they brought back Territories as well. Fabulous first set for me.

The string ensemble complemented the band well with CA tracks in 2nd set. Dreamline was added -another fav plus rounding off 2112 with Grand Finale was superb.Worth coming 4,000 miles or so to witness still the best band in the world!

I did ask at box office if I could listen to soundcheck as it had started after asking various officials I was denied-do you have to come from MARS to get in?? Isnt UK far enough!!Dear Mr Daniells could you fix it for me.............
#14 - Posted 09/17/2012 4:20 PM by CBBKY [contact]

I've seen Rush many times over the years, but three of their concerts really stand out for me. The first was my first Rush concert for "Hold Your Fire" in Louisville, KY because I went in really liking them, but came out being in awe of them. The second was in Cincinnati for the "Test for Echo" tour because that was the best performance I've seen from them. The third was last week's show in Indy. Why? Because this was the most fun I've ever seen them play. It seemed they were really enjoying themselves and the strings just added to the fun! I wasn't expecting that this time around. I was pleasantly surprised.
#13 - Posted 09/17/2012 12:56 PM by Cask of 43 [contact]

A bit tardy to the party here, but I was at the Indy show - and will duplicate that in Columbus, OH this Thurs - and it was GREAT!

What I didn't hear from my seat (3rd row from floor, 1st section, Alex's side, about 11 seats in, mid-section, whatevs) was this "muddiness", or booming bass sound that seems to be a common complaint among concert goers, so far. In fact, the sound was superb. I have similar seats at Columbus, so we'll see if the venue makes a difference here. Of course, I may be just too old to care, or notice, any differences. About the only time a show had that big booming bass sound was at Blossom in NE Ohio (amphitheater show) for the 2007 Snakes and Arrows tour - I was in the last five rows just inside the roof and it was horribly out of balance from that vantage. Each venue - indoor or outdoor - will have its own issues for the music being played.

I've seen every album tour since my first in Jan. 1986 at Richfield Coliseum (R.I.P.) for the Power Windows tour (I missed the R30 somehow...still don't know why I didn't go...) So, of course, we've all heard Limelight, Tom Sawyer, Spirit of Radio, etc..., ad nauseum. They could have ditched TS and played Spirit, though - THAT would have made my night even better.

With Clockwork Angels in such heavy rotation in my car (drive-time is about the only time I get to listen to anything) since it came out, I was REALLY eager to hear the boys play it live and they didn't disappoint. The addition of strings to the show was done very well - and the mix for that was good, too, in that they added a different texture to tunes, like YYZ, that I wouldn't normally consider a good choice. I liked being wrong there!

I went into this show making the mistake of reading reviews of the other shows, comments, complaints, observations...and I figured that was going to color my experience - waiting for this thing, or that sound problem, or a solo train wreck on Tom Sawyer, or whatever -- but again, was totally pleased with just about everything. Great show! I'm always wondering when it will be their last and just so thankful that my favorite group can - and does! - rock out hard.

-D-
#12 - Posted 09/15/2012 11:07 PM by 21anagram12 [contact]

18th rush show here. Loved the 80s set, CWA - strings played hard and awesome, band even harder. The show will only get better as the tour continues. They still seem to be working on the room sound. The mix on the floor is still muddy/boomy. This could be fixed by cutting the low low bass kickdrum freqs and perhaps boosting the mid, low-high freqs of Ged's bass - or using some smart compression on either... May be a different ball game from venue to venue, but still, sounds to me like there's a different sound crew employed.

As for issues with the selection of songs - this was perhaps the oddest (and best) selection I have heard at a show. I've heard Xanadu/Freewill/Limelight countless times. Was refreshing to hear some 80s stuff played in 2012.
#11 - Posted 09/15/2012 12:07 PM by veramarie [contact]

This would have been an amazing show if the sound weren't so dreadful. Maybe it depended on where you were sitting (we were club level, about halfway back), but where we were the bass was so overpowering that, with or without earplugs, the primary sound I could hear was a low rumble that drowned everything else out. Nobody else around us showed any signs of getting into it very much either. It seemed to have gotten a little better - although still not good - by the second half, although that may just have been because my ears were messed up by then.

It kills me, because Rush is my favorite band and I've been looking forward to this concert for months, so it was really disappointing. You could tell that the guys were playing their hearts out. I loved the stage setup, loved the lighting effects, loved the videos. These guys put on such an amazing show every time that it left me feeling very angry at the venue for not presenting them in a much better light. I fell in love with Rush at the first concert I attended (Roll the Bones), but if this one were my first, that never would have happened.

Needless to say, I will not be seeing Rush (or really any band) at Bankers Life again if they come back there. I'd go out of town and see them somewhere else first.
#10 - Posted 09/15/2012 10:17 AM by Mattyoh69 [contact]

Just saw them Thursday night in Indy, and am going to Columbus next week (with my 11 year old daughter...her 3rd Rush show), and Cleveland, too. I would agree that until a few songs in, the crew seemed to be struggling with the mix a bit, but I don't think many people noticed or cared. Loved the stripped-down set, and I was really surprised and thrilled that the audience was so into the new tracks. But then again, with so many fans saying that this is probably one of the best albums they have ever made, I guess I shouldn't be surprised. This show is all about the second set, so if their 1984-1988 period isn't your favorite (I personally love those songs), just hang in there and you will be richly rewarded in the second set. And Rush also gets the award for the coolest use of strings at a rock concert EVER. No cheesy arrangements...just nine great string players in jeans and black t-shirts rocking out, hard. Simply awesome! Can't wait for the next show!
#9 - Posted 09/14/2012 11:45 PM by pariah dog [contact]

My 13th show and a disappointment. The sound was horrible, muddy bass and echoes normally heard indoors. I do not understand the move to more indoor venues, this will be my last. No complaints on the setlist, the band can play whatever motivates them to keep touring. Looking forward to an outdoor return next summer.
#8 - Posted 09/14/2012 3:53 PM by seth2112 [contact]

im over it. cant beleive the highlight is far cry.
just another bitter jaded vet.
#7 - Posted 09/14/2012 3:35 PM by redfearngeo [contact]

Totally awesome as usual.
It was worth the price of admission just to see Neil smile twice & laugh once
early in the first set
Sound was a little muddy on a few songs but over all great.
The strings added a lot.
Thanks for keepin' on keepin'on
#6 - Posted 09/14/2012 3:14 PM by Darrell [contact]

Went last night to the Indy show. My first of 5 in a row!! Chicago tomorrow night, followed by Detroit, Columbus, & St. Louis. Did not "know" the set list beforehand, & it sounds like it was just as well, since they've switched it up every show so far. Been goin' since '78, [30+ shows] & as usual they never disappoint. Consumate professionals. If it's at all possible they get better with age. Can't wait to see 'em in the windy city. I planned a weeks vacation around this tour. They are the only band in the world I would do this for. For obvious reasons. They truly are the best, & they prove it over & over again every night they play, & with every new record they produce.
#5 - Posted 09/14/2012 11:04 AM by pepple69 [contact]

Awesome show!! My first Rush concert and I couldn't ask for more. It paid off to know the set list ahead of time. Brushed up on some of the more obscure songs. Went with my 15 year old son - huge Rush fanatic - we love the CWA album and knew every song intimately. Made a huge difference to how much we enjoyed the second half of the show. Getty's voice was in excellent form and the addition of the strings set off songs like "The Garden" and "Halo Effect." Sound was excellent - could hear the strings well - better than what I've read from previous shows. For me, I loved the set list - seemed to me the true Rush fans were given a gift by the band. Any casual Rush fan knows the hits, but the serious fans know and love this new album and wanted to hear it live. I felt sorry for those at the show who had no idea they even had a new album and stood with their hands in their pockets during the CWA set. Sad. I had the night of my life as a Rush fan and as a dad!!
#4 - Posted 09/14/2012 7:28 AM by jjbsew [contact]

I was at the show last night in Indy, and it was terrific. I read the threads about the setlist, but don't worry, it's a great show. They are pros and it shows. The strings are a great add in the second set, and Working Man is an absolute JAM!! For those going to upcoming shows, you won't be disappointed.
#3 - Posted 09/14/2012 12:16 AM by dennisfp [contact]

Can some kind soul send me an email with the *Clockwork Angels tunes only* that are played during the concert? dennisfp1 ( a t ) yahoo.com

I'd like to make a mix CD so that my boy will be familiar with the songs played.

Please *don't* send any other song spoilers as I'd like the rest of the concert to be a surprise.

Many thanks!!!
#2 - Posted 09/14/2012 12:11 AM by Kevinimel [contact]

Great show!!! Seen every tour since Presto and this one ranks with the best. Rush never disappoints. I loved the set list, it was a great change. Halo Effect and Wish Them Well sound so much better live than I thought they would. Analog Kid brought the place down. Have fun!
#1 - Posted 09/13/2012 11:34 PM by jahlove [contact]

Bring it on Indy! How was it?
Leave a comment | Back to top

Page 1 of 1 - 1
20 items per page (10 50 ), Sorting by newest first (oldest first)

Login to post your comment

You must login to post comments. If you do not have an account you can create one for free at this link.